About AFC

AFC Board

The Board of Directors at the AIDS Foundation of Chicago oversees the work and leadership of the organization. Read Board members' biographies here.

We’re looking for individuals who can help us achieve our goals of equity and justice by serving on the board of directors for AIDS Foundation of Chicago (AFC)! We believe creating an inclusive and diverse culture improves the effectiveness of our board and better reflects the diverse populations that we serve. Learn more here!  If you are interested, please email John Peller, jpeller@aidschicago.org with your resume and a brief letter of interest by Friday, Sept. 17, 2021.


Board Chair

Craig W. Johnson*, American Medical Association

Vice Chair

Nanette Silva*, Community Memorial Foundation

Treasurer and Finance Chair

Anthony Tintinalli*, BMO Harris


Chad Thompson*, Lyceum Leadership Consulting

Past Chair 

Dr. Terri Friel*, Venture Connects

Policy & Advocacy


Mary Pounder, Comer Family Foundation

Fund Development

Lori Kaufman*


Geoffrey Brown*, National Association of Personal Financial Advisors

Center for Housing and Health

Kuliva N. Wilburn, MPH, Wilburn Strategic Solutions

Strategic Planning

Chad Thompson*, Lyceum Leadership Consulting

Lance P. Glass, Luster Products, Inc.


Nanette Silva*, Community Memorial Foundation

Board of Directors

Adwoa Antwi-Barfi, McDonald's 

Anthony Bruck, Eckhart Trading Company

Caprice Carthans, South Side Help Center

Cecil Dearborne, Thoughtworks

Paula D. Friedman, Paula D. Friedman, Attorney 

Roy A. Ferguson

Yusef Garcia, Forefront

Larry Giddings, @Properties

Rick J. Gutierrez, Option Care Health

Derrick Kimbrough, Chicago Public Schools

Janet Lin, MD, MPH, MBA, University of Illinois at Chicago

Liu Montsho, 360 HR Solutions 

Esteban Rodriguez, Northwest Side Housing Center

Thomas A. Sondergeld, Carrot Co.

Joseph Stokes, Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago

Ben Stringfellow, CRA

JP Valadez, Kivvit

* Executive Committee member